Science Engaging Communities

As communities face increasing challenges in need of societal decision-making informed by scientific evidence, AAAS and the Science family of journals communicate high-quality research and advocate for the use of science with diverse scientific and public audiences.

The AAAS mission focuses our work to “advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people.” AAAS makes significant impacts by leading initiatives in science communication, education, policy, public engagement, and international programs and partnering with affiliated organizations, members and supporters.

In the last year, we shared information on important research advances with the scientific community, policymakers, reporters and the public; strongly advocated for the conditions that the research enterprise needs to thrive; provided valuable training and resources for students, scientists and engineers; and promoted research collaboration across disciplines and borders.

We thank AAAS members and donors for their service and support on behalf of our organization.

Susan Hockfield head shot

Susan Hockfield

Chair, AAAS Board of Directors
President Emerita and Professor of Neuroscience
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Rush D. Holt

Chief Executive Officer, AAAS
Executive Publisher,
Science Family of Journals

Photo Credit: Chet Susslin/National Journal

Founded in 1848, the American Association for the Advancement of Science is an international, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing science, engineering and innovation for the benefit of all people. With more than 120,000 individual members in more than 91 countries, AAAS is the world’s largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of cutting-edge research through the Science family of journals. As one of the top voices for science worldwide, we spearhead initiatives in policy, international cooperation and diplomacy, STEM education, public engagement and more. We strive to promote and defend the integrity of science and its use, provide a voice for science on societal issues, and strengthen and diversify the science and technology workforce.

AAAS Board of Directors and Management

Board of Directors 2018

Board Officers

Susan Hockfield
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Margaret A. Hamburg
National Academy of Medicine

Steven Chu
Stanford University

Carolyn N. Ainslie
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Rush D. Holt
Chief Executive Officer, AAAS


Board Members

Cynthia M. Beall
Case Western Reserve University

May R. Berenbaum
University of Illinois at

Rosina M. Bierbaum
University of Michigan/University of Maryland

Stephen P.A. Fodor
13.8 Inc.

S. James Gates Jr.
Brown University

Michael S. Gazzaniga
University of California, Santa Barbara

Laura H. Greene
National High Magnetic Field Laboratory/Florida State University

Kaye Husbands Fealing
Georgia Institute of Technology

Robert B. Millard
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mercedes Pascual
University of Chicago

William D. Provine
DuPont/Delaware Innovation Space

AAAS Management 2018

Executive Leadership

Rush D. Holt
Chief Executive Officer, AAAS
Executive Publisher, Science Family of Journals

Jeremy Berg
Editor-in-Chief, Science Family of Journals

Andrew Black
Chief of Staff and Chief External Affairs Officer

Bill Moran
Publisher, Science Family of Journals

Michael Savelli
Chief Operating Officer

Colleen Struss
Chief Financial Officer and Chief Legal Officer



Senior Management

Tim Appenzeller
News Editor, Science

Zdenek Becka
Director, Information Technology

Kathy Black
Director, Strategic Planning

Monica Bradford
Executive Editor, Science Family of Journals

Joanne Padrón Carney
Chief Government Relations Officer

Maureen Kearney
Chief Program Officer

Tiffany Lohwater
Chief Communications Officer and Director, Public Programs

Shirley Malcom
Senior Advisor

Jo Ellen Roseman
Director, Project 2061

Beth Rosner
Senior Advisor

Juli Staiano
Chief Philanthropy Officer